Roberto Tejada

Roberto Tejada is the author of poetry collections Why the Assembly Disbanded (2022), Todo en el ahora (2015), Full Foreground (2012), Exposition Park (2010), and Mirrors for Gold (2006), as well as Still Nowhere in an Empty Vastness (2019), a LatinX poetics on colonial settlement and cultural counter-conquest in art and literature of the Americas. His writings on art and media history include the books National Camera: Photography and Mexico’s Image Environment (2009) and Celia Alvarez Muñoz (2009), as well as catalog essays in Now Dig This!: Art and Black Los Angeles, 1960-1980 (Hammer Museum, 2011) and Allora & Calzadilla: Specters of Noon (The Menil Collection, 2021). His writing spans method, discipline, and form to address the political imagination and impurity of time in shared image environments. He was awarded The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship in Poetry (2021) and is the Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor at the University of Houston where he teaches Creative Writing and Art History.