The Hattie Lockett Awards

The Hattie Lockett Awards are presented annually to three University of Arizona undergraduate students who, in the fall of their senior year, demonstrate great promise as poets. Three prizes in the amount of $300 each are awarded each year. The award was established in 1978 by Clay Lockett in memory of his mother, Hattie Greene Lockett (1880-1962). An Arizona teacher, sheep rancher, and writer, Hattie Lockett was president of the Arizona League of American Pen Women and served as their Poetry chairman. She also inaugurated Arizona Poetry Day.

Contest Eligibility

The Hattie Lockett Awards are open to University of Arizona seniors enrolled in at least 12 hours of course work at the time of the contest.

Enter the Contest

The 2018 contest is will open Friday, September 7-Monday, October 1, 2018, at midnight MST, and our 2018 judge is Felicia Zamora! 

DEADLINE EXTENDED: Thursday, November 1, 2018. 

Felicia Zamora’s books include Of Form & Gather, winner of the 2016 Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize (University of Notre Dame 2017), & in Open, Marvel (Parlor Press 2017), and Instrument of Gaps (Slope Editions 2018). Her poetry is found in Alaska Quarterly Review, Crazyhorse, Indiana Review, jubilat, North American Review, OmniVerse, Prairie Schooner, The Georgia Review, West Branch, and others. She won the 2015 Tomaž Šalamun Prize, authored two chapbooks, was the 2017 Poet Laureate of Fort Collins, CO. She is Associate Poetry Editor for the Colorado Review and the Education Programs Coordinator for the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing.

If you are eligible for this contest (University of Arizona seniors enrolled in at least 12 hours of coursework at the time of the contest) and would like to enter, visit our Submittable. The deadline for submissions is Monday, October 1, 2018, Thursday, November 1, 2018, at midnight MST.

Submissions should include:

  • A typed manuscript of three poems totaling no more than ten pages.
  • All poems should be included in one document.
  • We only accept DOC, DOCX, PDF, and RTF files.
  • Please format your text in Times New Roman or Arial font, size 12.
  • Name should not appear anywhere on work.

2017 Contest Winners

We are delighted to congratulate our three 2016 Hattie Lockett winners, as selected by judge Eloisa Amezcua. The winners, all undergraduate seniors, are Connor Oswald, Sophie Daws and Gabriel Oladipo. Congratulations again to Julia, Courtney, and Ruth, and thank you to all who submitted!

Connor Oswald is originally from Kansas, Connor Oswald is a senior at the University of Arizona, where he is majoring in global studies with an emphasis on human rights. He also has minors in both creative writing and Spanish. With his work, Connor aims to promote and create diverse storytelling that challenges the expectations of readers. After his undergraduate career, Connor hopes to attend creative writing graduate school.

Sophie Daws is a Tucson native. She will be graduating in the spring with a double major in English Literature and Creative Writing and a minor in Plant Sciences. She enjoys forcing her writing upon people—whether at readings or over coffee. And in the future, she hopes to keep writing and to be surrounded by plenty of interesting plants.

Gabriel Oladipo is a senior from Chicago, IL. He is studying English and Creative Writing at the University of Arizona. His poetry has appeared in Bad Pony Magazine, Blue Stoat, Oxidant | Engine, and Soundings East.

Hattie Lockett Awards: Winners

  • 2017: Connor Oswald, Sophie Daws, Gabriel Oladipo
  • 2015: Gabriel Palacios, Dana Pattison, Sheila Dong
  • 2014: Sally McCallum, Mason Gates, and Richard Leis (selected by Karen Brennan)
  • 2013: Paul Thomson, Katarina Lee, Daniel Marks
  • 2012: Mika Jankowski, Ryan Mills, Morgan Shnier
  • 2011: Christy Delehanty, Joe Loeffler, Cameron Louie
  • 2010: Madison Bertenshaw, Katherine LaRue, Housten Owen Donham
  • 2009: Hallie Havican, Brett Larson, Julie Swarstad
  • 2008: Julieann Paladin Dela Cruz, Andrew Shuta, Chelsea Hodson
  • 2007: Kellie Davies, Jacob Levine, Lauren Harrison
  • 2006: Brandon Kreitler, Claire Shefchik, Marianne Go
  • 2005: Marina Kaganova, James Garza, Emily Stuart