Karen Brennan

Karen Brennan

Karen Brennan is the author of seven books of varying genres including the poetry collections little dark (Four Way Books, 2014),The Real Enough World (Wesleyan, 2006), and Here on Earth (Wesleyan, 1989); fiction collections Monsters (Four Way Books, forthcoming), Wild Desire (U Mass Press, 1990), and The Garden in Which I Walk (Fiction Collective 2, 2005); and a memoir, Being with Rachel (Norton, 2001). Her fiction, poetry, and nonfiction have appeared in anthologies from Norton, Penguin, Graywolf, Spuytin Duyvil, Michigan Press, and Georgia University, among others. A National Endowment of the Arts recipient, she is Professor Emerita at the University of Utah, where she also served as fiction editor for Western Humanities Review. She teaches at the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers.





Into the picture we scissor ourselves

Into the sweat of starched shirts

Into the life of the picture 

Into the nest of trees behind the hill

Into the soft premises solid reckless leaves

Into the pointed shape of a house hanging cloudless

Into the room where the family

Into a future of small music

Into dismay no matter what hands

Into dismay running fast regardless

Into dismay silk mixed with dirt & flat sky

Into wands angels pigs pink stupidity

Into the street is anyone there

Into dismay reckon & bleed the next thing vanish

Into this fast earth.   Amen.



"prayer" from little dark (c) 2014 by Karen Brennan. Appearing with permission of Four Way Books. All rights reserved.

Arizona Board of Regents