University of Arizona Student Poetry Contests - Fall Contest

The Hattie Lockett Undergraduate Student Poetry Awards


The Hattie Lockett Awards are presented annually to students who, in the fall of their senior year, are judged to have demonstrated the greatest promise as poets. This award was established in 1978 by Clay Lockett in memory of his mother, Hattie Greene Lockett (1880-1962). An Arizona teacher, sheep rancher and writer, she was president of the Arizona League of American Pen Women and served as their poetry chairman. She also inaugurated Arizona Poetry Day. Learn more about Hattie Lockett here.

The Hattie Lockett awards are open to UA undergraduate seniors enrolled in at least 12 hours of course work at the time of the contest

The 2015 contest will open to submissions on Wednesday, August 26, 2015, and the deadline for submissions is Tuesday, September 15, 2015 at midnight MST. Between 8/26/15 and 9/15/15, please click here to access our Submittable page. Further guidelines can be found there.

For questions and more information about the Hattie Lockett contest, please contact Hannah Ensor at, or call (520) 626-0709.


2014 Hattie Lockett awards: winners!


The winners of the 2014 Hattie Lockett awards are Sally McCallumMason Gates, and Richard Leis.

The poems of these three UA seniors were selected by our 2014 Hattie Lockett judge, Karen Brennan, the author of seven books of varying genres including the poetry collections little dark (Four Way Books, 2014),The Real Enough World (Wesleyan, 2006), and Here on Earth (Wesleyan, 1989); fiction collections Monsters (Four Way Books, forthcoming), Wild Desire (U Mass Press, 1990), and The Garden in Which I Walk (Fiction Collective 2, 2005); and a memoir, Being with Rachel (Norton, 2001). Her fiction, poetry, and nonfiction have appeared in anthologies from Norton, Penguin, Graywolf, Spuytin Duyvil, Michigan Press, and Georgia University, among others. A National Endowment of the Arts recipient, she is Professor Emerita at the University of Utah, where she also served as fiction editor for Western Humanities Review. She teaches at the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers.

Sally McCallum's submission included the poems "Quick Trip," "After the Train Station," and "Pamphlet." Mason Gates's submission was titled humans are the loudest animal. And Richard Leis's submission included the poems "He can wear hats," "The Talents," and "The Divorce of Lilith and Samuel."

SallyMason, and Richard, will be sharing their award-winning poems at the Sonora Review Release Reading & Reception on November 20th at 7:00pm at the Poetry Center. For more information on this reading, please visit

Congratulations again, Sally, Mason, and Richard, and thank you to all who submitted!!


Past Winners:

2013: Paul Thomson, Katarina Lee, Daniel Marks
2012: Mika Jankowski, Ryan Mills, Morgan Shnier
2011: Christy Delehanty, Joe Loeffler, Cameron Louie
2010: Madison Bertenshaw, Katherine LaRue, Housten Owen Donham [read their work]
2009: Hallie Havican, Brett Larson, Julie Swarstad
2008: Julieann Paladin Dela Cruz, Andrew Shuta, Chelsea Hodson
2007: Kellie Davies, Jacob Levine, Lauren Harrison.
2006: Brandon Kreitler, Claire Shefchik, Marianne Go
2005: Marina Kaganova, James Garza, Emily Stuart



Arizona Board of Regents