University of Arizona Student Contests


Hattie Lockett Awards

The Hattie Lockett Awards are presented annually to three students who, in the fall of their senior year, are judged to have demonstrated the greatest promise as poets. Three prizes of $300 each are awarded to all three winners.  This award was established in 1978 by Clay Lockett in memory of his mother, Hattie Greene Lockett (1880-1962). An Arizona teacher, sheep rancher and writer, she was president of the Arizona League of American Pen Women and served as their poetry chairman. She also inaugurated Arizona Poetry Day. Learn more about Hattie Lockett here.


Academy of American Poets, Margaret Sterling and Poetry Center Awards

The Poetry Center administers this annual poetry contest, which is open to all full time University of Arizona students. Contestants must be full-time graduate or undergraduate students at the University of Arizona in the current semester. The following prizes are offered concurrently and are available to all eligible students who apply. Academy of American Poets: one $200 prize, Margaret Sterling Memorial Awards: two $100 prizes, Poetry Center Awards: two $100 prizes.

The LaVerne Harrell Clark Fiction Award

This award has been established in the memory of LaVerne Harrell Clark, noted author and photographer, and first director of the University of Arizona Poetry Center. Open to all UA graduate students in the Creative Writing or English Department. This biannual award is open to fiction submissions in even-numbered years; the next LaVerne Harrell Clark Fiction Award will be open in 2016.

For questions and more information about these UA Student Contests, please email Hannah Ensor at

Arizona Board of Regents